Xorg-Edgers Repository

I added this ppa repo to my sources.list, upgraded and my glx gears went from ~2870 to ~4880. This repo was recommended on the Ubuntu Forums for possible performance improvements. It’s Xorg, so beware. (I’ve used it before with 9.04 and never had problems, Nvidia Quadro that time)

## Bleeding Edge Xorg
deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/xorg-edgers/ppa/ubuntu/ karmic main
deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/xorg-edgers/ppa/ubuntu/ karmic main

the key:

sudo apt-key adv --recv-keys --keyserver keyserver.ubuntu.com 8844C542

I’m using Karmic 9.10 x64 on this Dell Vostro 1220 with an Intel x4500HD graphics card.

5 Responses to Xorg-Edgers Repository

  1. freezway says:

    worked for a while but is now giving me trouble! how do i remove!!!!

  2. John says:

    Same here…first I’ve had trouble….check out “ppa-purge” in synaptic…the command is like:

    sudo ppa-purge xorg-edgers

    make sure synaptic is CLOSED before you run it. Google that ppa-purge command and read about it also. There’s a way to restore to standard repository x files.

  3. freezway says:

    ppa purge isn’t in synaptic. im running karmic

  4. John says:

    Have all your repo’s enabled? I found it in Synaptic…check the xorg edgers ppa site on that…

  5. John says:

    ps….I’m using Karmic x64 also.

Leave a Reply

