Fix: “Failed to Parse” xorg.conf error while Saving Nvidia-Settings

Testing with Karmic Beta (shouldn’t matter):

1) open a terminal
2) sudo mv -i /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.backup
2) sudo touch /etc/X11/xorg.conf
3) sudo nvidia-settings
4) hit "save configuration"

This will result in blank xorg.conf file (DON’T RESTART X!!) Now copy ONLY the “Device” section from the backup to the new conf, since that is what it said was required after an ensuing error that you can avoid like this: (Mine was as follows)

Section "Device"
Identifier "Configured Video Device"
Driver "nvidia"
EndSection

I put this little Fix together, so you the reader won’t have to jump from thread to thread to thread like I did to put it all together. Ridiculous…someone’s got to be doing this besides me.

If you only learn one thing as a user, master your xorg.conf file in X and at the console. If you can’t get into X, and you’re an average ‘user’, you’re done for unless. Don’t ask how I know 🙂

8 Responses to Fix: “Failed to Parse” xorg.conf error while Saving Nvidia-Settings

  1. whyNameRequired says:

    Thanks!
    Short, nice and it works, very helpful.

  2. jrincon87 says:

    Hey, should we then start the Nvidia-settings again and attempt to save the configuration, or should we restart first and then try to save it?
    Thanks.

  3. micahs says:

    Mine was almost identical, but I needed to change the order somewhat:

    1) open a terminal
    2) sudo mv -i /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.backup
    2) sudo touch /etc/X11/xorg.conf

    This will result in blank xorg.conf file (DON’T RESTART X!!) Now copy ONLY the “Device” section from the backup to the new conf, since that is what it said was required. Now do steps 3-4.

    3) sudo nvidia-settings
    4) hit “save configuration”

    It asked if I wanted to merge with the existing xorg.conf or overwrite. I chose the ‘merge’ option. That’s what worked for me. Thanks for the tip!

  4. micahs says:

    I should say that I’m using the Nvidia driver version 185.18.36 and Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala.

  5. Mark B says:

    I needed to follow michahs suggestions as well. I’m running Mint

  6. Mark B says:

    I’m still having troubles. First the color while playing videos was the wrong hue. then I tried to redo the steps. After that I got video and was missing the open and close window buttons and my terminal screen was just blank and didn’t show any text that I’m typing but does respond. Now I retried and I’m back to square one but I do see the Nvideo logo upon bootup.

    Thoughts?

  7. Mark B says:

    Oh yes, to be clear…the same problem means that I when I play videos I get sound and no picture. I can edit the conf file as much as i want using gksudo, but no luck. I was able to find another fix but just for Mplayer by changing vo_driver to = “x11” in the gui.conf file.

Leave a Reply

