Quick Tip: Installing Ubuntu Studio Theme on Ubuntu

The Ubuntu Studio theme looks really very cool and easy on the eyes.  Want to install it in Ubuntu?  That’s easy!  I am using it on my Ubuntu Hardy Heron 8.04.  As a added benefit to some, using this theme (incl gdm) along with Bluman for Usplash (found in gnome-look.org) will remove all remnants of that eye searing Orangutan Brown at boot up :-):

1. Install Ubuntu Studio theme, this includes GTK and Metacity theme. With the following commnad in your terminal:

sudo apt-get install ubuntustudio-theme

2. Install Ubuntu Studio icon theme:

sudo apt-get install ubuntustudio-icon-theme

3. Install Ubuntu Studio GDM theme:

sudo apt-get install ubuntustudio-gdm-theme

4. Install Ubuntu Studio wallpapers:

sudo apt-get install ubuntustudio-wallpapers

Of course, you can also get meta package ubuntustudio-look, but this will remove ubuntu-sounds package.

Ubuntu Studio look

6 Responses to Quick Tip: Installing Ubuntu Studio Theme on Ubuntu

  1. Windserfer says:

    Hi, I noticed your very beautiful desktop and I was wondering how did you get the dock and what esle you used to get this….

    thanks

  2. John says:

    That’s not my dock but rather an example I posted for Ubuntu Studio…I think the dock is Avant Window Navigator (AWN).

  3. Windserfer says:

    Thanks

  4. mmh says:

    Hello,
    Im using Ubuntu 8.04 on my PC. Ive installed ubuntu studio themes & icons on my Desktop. But I have a question. I can not made the Dock below im seeing in this site . How can I install them or make them visible in my own desktop? Please reply me in detail cause im new to Linux Platform.

    thanks for all.
    shanummh

  5. John says:

    shanummh: That dock is Avant Window Navigator and you can download it from the Ubuntu Repositories. Actually, that pic is not my dock but rather an example I posted to show how nice it can look. AWN was in my experience a little quirky and took some tweaking; this was several months ago but it may be better now. I would google search that program to get some specific tips on tweaking, but installing is easy via Synaptic…you’ll learn it with some time. I wish I could be more help, but I really don’t use a dock in Linux, only Vista. Thanks for coming around this way! john

Leave a Reply

